2013 Hall of Fame Thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2013 Hall of Fame Thread

My ballot for the National Baseball Hall of Fame 2013 election is in the mail.

It’s dutifully signed, has my Baseball Writers’ Association of America badge number recorded, all official.

What it does not have is a vote for a single player.

The day of reckoning I’ve been dreading for five years — ever since Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens finally left the playing field and started the countdown to Hall of Fame eligibility — has arrived.

With no guidance from either the Hall of Fame or Major League Baseball, no clarity from the courts or Congress, and no soul-baring from the players themselves, it’s up to the 600 or so Hall of Fame voters to be judge and jury for these symbols of baseball’s steroids era.

The questions are unprecedented. Who was dirty? Who was clean? Who got an advantage from using performance-enhancing drugs and who didn’t?

In the end, all we have is a ton of circumstancial evidence, a general acknowledgment that it was a dirty time in baseball for a lot of players, but no checklist telling us who juiced and who was clean.

Hall voters are left with three options:

Vote based on players’ career records and shelve the PED debate.

Selectively vote based on whatever suspicions one might have.

Vote for no one.

I am choosing to speak loudly by using silence.

This is my way of expressing my anger to baseball. Angry that the powers-that-be turned their backs while this was going on. Angry that it took us so long to shine light on it.

If you think I’m being stubborn, illogical or naive, or you think I’m ducking the issue, you are welcome to those opinions. And here’s something else that might push you off the deep end: I probably won’t do the same thing next year.